Important: You need to use different instructions if you're trying
to delete a customer account or
delete a vendor account.
There are three ways to remove an account from your Chart of Accounts:
Say you have both an Office Supplies account and a Business Supplies account.
You might want to merge the two accounts so you can see the
transactions for both
accounts listed as a single line in your reports.
Hide an account (by
making it inactive)
Because you don't want to lose historical transactions, you don't want to delete an account that you aren't using anymore. It's better to
hide the account in your chart of accounts by making it inactive.
Delete an account
Unless you've set up an account by mistake, it's
better for your records to hide an account instead of deleting it. There are
limitations when you delete an account.