Was this page helpful?
Thank you!

Comments or suggestions?



Enter Email Address (optional)
email

What is single-user mode?

Single-user mode limits access to your company file to one person at a time. If other people are working in the file, they must close the file or exit QuickBooks before you can switch to single-user mode.

Why switch to single-user mode?

Some tasks can only be done in single-user mode. These include:

  • File operations such as backing up, cleaning up, or exporting data

  • Some types of changes to lists (deleting a list item, for example)

  • Activities involving Accountant's Copy

  • Some types of setup tasks (setting up finance charges, for example)

If you are working in multi-user mode and try to do something that can only be done in single-user mode, QuickBooks warns you that you need to switch modes.

Switching to single-user mode also makes time-consuming tasks go faster. For example if you have some big reports to run, you can create them faster in single-user mode.

When is the best time to switch?

Any time other people don't need access to your company file. If you need to work in single-user mode for an extended period of time, you might want to do it when other people aren't in the office, such as early in the morning or at the end of the day.

Learn more about Go online the multi-user feature available in QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions.

See also

KB ID# H_GL_MULTIUSER_SU_MODE
9/30/2016 9:52:42 AM
PPRDQSSWS407 9138 Pro 2017 70e372