Was this page helpful?
Thank you!

Comments or suggestions?



Enter Email Address (optional)
email

Voiding or deleting a transaction

For complete records, void a transaction rather than delete it. Voiding changes the amount to zero, but keeps the empty transaction in QuickBooks. Deleting removes a transaction completely.

Important: There is no "undo" for voided or deleted transactions. However, you can reenter voided or deleted transactions.

Find the transaction to void or delete

If you haven't located the transaction to void or delete, QuickBooks can help you find it.

To void a transaction

  1. Select the transaction you want to void.

  2. Go to the Edit menu and click Void [transaction], where [transaction] can be any valid QuickBooks transaction.

  3. Save the transaction.

    • Click Save & Close to save the transaction and close the window.

    • Click Save & New to save the transaction and enter a new one.

To delete a transaction

  1. Select the transaction you want to delete.

  2. Go to the Edit menu and click Delete [transaction], where [transaction] can be any valid QuickBooks transaction.

  3. Click OK to confirm the deletion.

Note: You can't delete a summary transaction created using the Clean up company data utility.

To void or delete a specific type of transaction

See also

KB ID# H_REG_VOID_DELETE
7/29/2014 7:55:53 PM
PPRDQSSWS407 9102 Pro 2013 ecb75b