Was this page helpful?
Thank you!

Comments or suggestions?



Enter Email Address (optional)
email

Add users and give them access

Only the QuickBooks Administrator can do this task.

To do this task

  1. Go to the Company menu, click Set Up Users and Passwords, and then click Set Up Users.

  2. Click Add User.

  3. Assign a user name and password:

    1. Enter the name of the person in the User Name field.
    2. (Optional) Enter a password in the Password field and again in the Confirm Password field.
    3. Click Next.
  4. Choose whether this person will have access to selected areas of QuickBooks or all areas of QuickBooks.

    What do these choices mean?

    • Selected areas of QuickBooks: Lets you choose which areas (sales, purchases, payroll, and so on) the user can access in QuickBooks. A sequence of questions helps you select the areas.

    • All areas of QuickBooks: Gives the user access to all areas. The user can do everything except a few special activities reserved exclusively for the QuickBooks Administrator. Activities the user won't be able to do are:

      • Setting up passwords and permissions

      • Importing and exporting data

      • Changing company setup information

      • Changing company-specific preferences

  5. Click Next.

    • If you granted access to all areas of QuickBooks, you have no more selections to make. Click Yes to confirm that you want this person to have full access. Click Finish to complete the setup process.

    • If you are selecting the areas the user has access to, make your selections in the window. Click Next to go to the next window.

      What do the access levels mean?

      • No access: Denies access of any kind to the area.

      • Full access: Provides general access to the area, letting the user do everything except edit and delete transactions. You'll be asked near the end of the setup process if you also want the user to edit and delete transactions.

      • Selective access: Provides a more limited access to the area than full access. Select this option if you want the user to have access, but not be able to do a particular activity. For example, you can allow someone to enter transactions but prevent them from printing them.

  6. When the Changing or Deleting Transactions window opens, click Yes to the first question if you want the user to be able to edit and delete transactions in addition to creating them, and then indicate whether you want the user to have access to transactions from prior accounting periods.

    What do my responses mean?

    Editing and deleting

    Yes. Allows editing and deleting of transactions in all areas where the user has access.

    No. Restricts editing and deleting of transactions to those the user entered in the current QuickBooks session.

    Closing date

    Yes. Lets the user edit and delete transactions entered on or before your current closing date. This privilege is also password-controlled. A user who has the privilege must know the closing date password to gain access to closed transactions.

    No. Prevents the user from editing or deleting closed transactions, even if the user knows the closing date password. This protects your records against changes that would alter balances for closed accounting periods.

  7. In the last window, review the table that summarizes the access rights you granted. If you need to make a change, click Prev to return to the appropriate window.

  8. Click Finish to complete the setup process.

QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions offers more advanced options to customize Go online user permissions.

&qb_enterprise_solutions; offers more advanced options to customize Go online user permissions.

See also

KB ID# H_PSWD_HDI_USER_ADD
4/24/2014 1:56:01 AM
PPRDQSSWS407 9102 Pro 2013 5fb28f