Was this page helpful?
Thank you!

Comments or suggestions?



Enter Email Address (optional)
email

Remove an item

There are 3 ways to remove an item:

  • Combine (merge) two items

    For example, if you mistakenly entered the same item twice but with different names, you can merge the 2 items so that all of your transactions are associated with only 1 item name.

  • Hide an item (by making it inactive)

    For example, if you have an item that you no longer sell, you can hide the item so it won't appear in the list.

  • Delete an item

    Note: It's better for your records to hide an item instead of deleting it. Also, there are limitations when you delete an item.

    General limitations

    • You must delete items one at a time. You can't delete several items at once, and you can't delete the entire item list.

    • You can't delete an item if it's been used in a transaction, even if you no longer use or sell the item.

    • The only time you can undo an item deletion is immediately after you delete it. If you perform any other action in QuickBooks first, you won't be able to reverse the deletion. If you delete an item by mistake, immediately go to the Edit menu and choose Undo Delete Item.

    Limitations on deleting inventory assembly items

    • You can't delete inventory parts or assemblies that are used as components of other assemblies (even if the assemblies are inactive), unless you first remove that component from all assemblies that reference it.

      If you create an assembly and build it (but then don't use it in any other transactions), you can delete the assembly from inventory by first deleting the assembly build transaction and then deleting the assembly.

    • When you delete an assembly item that hasn't been used in a transaction, component parts are not deleted automatically. To delete components from inventory, you must delete them as inventory parts.

    To delete an item

    1. From the main QuickBooks menu, choose Lists > Item List.

    2. Click the item you want to delete.

    3. From the main QuickBooks menu, choose Edit > Delete Item.

    Important: If you delete an item by mistake, immediately go to the Edit menu and choose Undo Delete Item. If you perform any other action in QuickBooks first, you won't be able to reverse the delete.

See also

KB ID# H_LIST_TOC_LIST_ITEM_REMOVE_ENTRIES
11/23/2014 10:34:58 AM
PPRDQSSWS406 9102 Pro 2013 ba8760