Was this page helpful?
Thank you!

Comments or suggestions?



Enter Email Address (optional)
email

Reopen windows when starting up QuickBooks

The Desktop preferences determine which windows (if any) automatically open when you open your company file. By saving a set of windows that you frequently use, you can save time on startup.

To do this task

  1. Open the desktop view preferences.

    To do this task

    1. Go to the Edit menu and click Preferences.

    2. In the Preferences window, click Desktop View in the list on the left.

  2. On the My Preferences tab, select one of the options listed in the Desktop area.

    What the options do

    Determines which windows (if any) automatically open on the desktop when you open your company file.

    Save when closing company. Displays the desktop exactly as it was when you last worked in the company file. Select this option when you want your work to reappear as it was when you left it. The windows you were using reappear in the same positions as before.

    Save current desktop. Displays the desktop exactly as it is now. Select this option when you want the same set of windows to reopen every time you open the file. (This option affects only the current company file. If you work in more than one company file, you can save a different desktop for each file.)

    Don't save the desktop. Displays an empty desktop (no windows open) when you return to the company file.

    Keep previously saved desktop. Restores the desktop as it appeared prior to the current desktop. This option appears only when "Save current desktop" is selected.

    Show Home page when opening a company file. Allows you to show or hide the Home page on your desktop when you open your company file. The QuickBooks Home page is preset to show. If the Home page doesn't show when you open the company file, you can still view and use the Home page. Click the Home button on the toolbar to show the Home page.

    Show Live Community. Allows you to set the Live Community window as the opening window when you click Help. By default, the Live Community window opens on top of the Help window.

    Detach the Help Window. Allows you to dock or undock the Help window to the QuickBooks desktop window. By default, the Help window docks to the right of the QuickBooks desktop window. When you undock the Help window, you can move it around on the desktop.

  3. Click OK.

See also

KB ID# H_DESKTOP
9/30/2016 3:00:29 PM
PPRDQSSWS407 9138 Pro 2017 0cd162