Was this page helpful?
Thank you!

Comments or suggestions?



Enter Email Address (optional)
email

Delete a vendor

You must delete vendors one at a time. You can't delete several vendors at the same time, nor can you delete the entire vendor list all at once.

The only time you can revert a vendor deletion is immediately after you delete it. More ...

If you perform any other action in QuickBooks, you won't be able to reverse the delete. If you delete a vendor by mistake, immediately go to the Edit menu and choose Undo Delete Vendor.

What you can't delete

You can't delete a vendor if:

  • The vendor has been used for a transaction, even if the transaction is completed.

  • The vendor has an open balance.

For all of the above situations, it makes for better bookkeeping records to hide the vendor name in the list by making it inactive. This won't reduce the total size of your vendor list, but it will make the list easier to manage.

To delete a vendor

  1. Click the Vendors icon.

  2. Click the Vendors tab.

  3. Single-click the vendor.

  4. Go to the Edit menu and click Delete Vendor.

Important: If you deleted the vendor by mistake, immediately go to the Edit menu and choose Undo Delete Vendor.

See also

KB ID# H_LIST_TASK_LIST_VEND_DELETE
9/27/2016 10:09:54 PM
QYPPRDQBKSWS05 9138 Pro 2017 063bb3