Was this page helpful?
Thank you!

Comments or suggestions?



Enter Email Address (optional)
email

Delete a customer or job

You must delete customers or jobs one at a time. You can't delete several customers or jobs at the same time, nor can you delete the entire customer:job list all at once.

The only time you can revert a customer or job deletion is immediately after you delete it. More ...

If you perform any other action in QuickBooks, you won't be able to reverse the delete. If you delete a customer or job by mistake, immediately go to the Edit menu and choose Undo Delete Customer:Job.

Situations where you can't delete a customer or job

You can't delete a customer or job if:

  • The customer or job has ever been used for a transaction, even if the current balance is zero and there is no current activity with that customer or job.

  • The customer has an open balance.

  • The customer has active jobs.

For all of the above situations, it makes for better bookkeeping records to hide the customer or job name in the list.

To delete a customer or job

  1. Click Customer Center.

  2. Click the Customers & Jobs tab.

  3. Single-click the customer or job you want to delete.

  4. Go to the Edit menu and click Delete Customer:Job.

If you deleted the customer or job by mistake, immediately go to the Edit menu and choose Undo Delete Customer:Job.

See also

KB ID# H_LIST_TASK_LIST_DELETE_CUST_OR_JOB
12/7/2016 11:48:18 PM
PPRDQSSWS407 9138 Pro 2017 00a5a8