Was this page helpful?
Thank you!

Comments or suggestions?



Enter Email Address (optional)
email

Void or delete a bill or payment

What is the difference between voiding and deleting?

Voiding changes the amount of the bill or payment to zero, but keeps a record of it in QuickBooks.

Deleting permanently removes the bill or payment. When you delete a bill that you've already paid, QuickBooks creates a credit with the vendor. If you delete a payment, the bill (or bills) it was paying will show unpaid balances.

To do this task

  1. Open the Accounts Payable register.

    To do this task

    1. Choose Lists > Chart of Accounts.

    2. Double-click the Accounts Payable account.

  2. Find the bill or payment in the register window.

    Remember that register transactions are in date order by default. You may need to scroll up or down to find your transaction.

    Click the 1-Line checkbox to see more transactions in the window.

    Go to the Edit menu and click Find to have QuickBooks help you find the transaction.

  3. From the main QuickBooks menu, choose Edit > Void Bill or Void Bill Pmt to void the transaction, or choose Delete Bill or Delete Bill Pmt to delete the transaction.

  4. Click Record.

See also

KB ID# H_BILLS_PMT_VOID_DELETE
4/23/2014 2:13:07 AM
QYPPRDQBKSWS05 9102 Pro 2013 8ebcf5