Was this page helpful?
Thank you!

Comments or suggestions?

Enter Email Address (optional)

Locked messages: Company File In Use, Feature in use, Another user doing XXX, or Transaction in use

When working in QuickBooks (opening the file or while working in the file) you see one of the following error messages:  Company File In UseFeature In Use, Another user is doing XXXor Transaction In Use

  • The automatic entry of XXX is being skipped because (USER) is accessing them.
  • Only one user at a time is allowed to do XXX.
  • Sorry you cannot change this XXX now.  (USER) is currently doing a task that uses that in this transaction.
  • Company File in use.  Please wait.
  • Another QuickBooks user is currently performing a task which must finish before you can continue.

What you can try now

When you receive one of these messages, press OK and you should be able to continue to work. You can also try the following steps:



Status Update:

We are still investigating this issue for possible root causes and solutions. At this time we do not have any additional information to provide.

Next Update:

September 30, 2016

KB ID# SLN79990
10/23/2016 8:25:06 PM
PPRDQSSWS407 9138 Pro 2017 761f66