Was this page helpful?
Thank you!

Comments or suggestions?



Enter Email Address (optional)
email

Audit Trail report displays unknown user

 When viewing an Audit Trail Report , it displays "Unknown User" under Last modified by. 

Why this is happening

This may happen if the user has been deleted. 

How to fix it

When someone no longer works for your company, we do not recommend deleting their user name. Deleting the user name results in the Audit Trail showing "unknown user" on transactions that the deleted user modified. 

 Instead, we recommend that you change the user's password and user access.
 
Log into company file as Admin.
  1. From the Company menu, select Set Up Users and Passwords>Set Up Users.
  2. Select User, click Edit User> Change Password.
  3. On the first screen choose Selected areas of QuickBooks and hit Next.
  4. On the remainder of the screens select No Access.
  5. Click Finish.
KB ID# SLN63788
12/6/2016 12:16:10 AM
QYPPRDQBKSWS07 9138 Pro 2017 b2165a