After logging into the company file as the Admin user, the user is able to edit the closing date field and password field, but can not edit the confirmation field.
This prevents the user from removing or changing the closing date password.
Why is this happening
Note: This type of damage is more common when your file is upgraded from a version of QuickBooks Desktop that is more than three years older than your current version.
Note: To perform the following steps, you must log into the company file as the Admin user.
Once the file has been upgraded to the newer version of QuickBooks Desktop, you may add the other users. You should now be able to edit the Closing Date and Password.