Was this page helpful?
Thank you!

Comments or suggestions?



Enter Email Address (optional)
email

Message that a user is logged in to a data file when they are not logged in

You may see a message that a user is logged in to a data file when they are not under a variety of circumstances when you are using QuickBooks in multi-user mode.

How to fix it

Intuit recommends 4 solutions for this problem. The first solution may solve your problem, or you may need to try both to resolve the issue. For best results, perform the solutions in the order shown.

Solution 1: Reboot all QuickBooks systems

Reboot all computers, including the server that is hosting the company file.


If you cannot restart the server, try solution 2

 

Solution 2: Log in as the "Ghost" user

  1. From the File menu, choose Open or Restore Company
  2. Select Open a Company File (.QBW or .QBA) and click Next.
  3. Select your company file and click to clear the Open in Multi-User Mode checkbox in the lower left of the Open Company:Type window.
  4. Click Open.
  5. Log in to the company file as the user that is reported as being logged in.
  6. Once logged in, go to the File menu and choose Close Company/Log Off.
  7. Repeat steps 2-4 but this time, click to check the Open in Multi-User Mode checkbox.

If you are getting the same error, try solution 3.

 

Solution 3: Restart the QuickBooks Desktop services

  1. Ensure that all workstations have QuickBooks closed and go to the server.
  2. On your keyboard, press + R to open the run window.
  3. Type in services.msc and click OK
  4. Under the Name column, find the QuickBooksDBXX that corresponds to your version and click Stop.
    QuickBooks 2017: QuickBooksDB27
    QuickBooks 2016: QuickBooksDB26
    QuickBooks 2015: QuickBooksDB25
    QuickBooks 2014: QuickBooksDB24
    Note:This will end all user access to the company file.
  5. Highlight the service and click Start.

If you still see the problem, try the next solution.

 

Solution 4: Log out users that are showing as logged into the company file
Important:
You need to be in multi-user mode to see this option.

  1. Open your company file using your admin login.
  2. From the Company menu, choose Chat with Co-worker. 
  3. In the QuickBooks Messenger window, choose Actions > Close Company File for Users.
  4. Select all users.
  5. Click the Close Company File button.
KB ID# SLN40522
12/4/2016 2:23:58 PM
PPRDQSSWS403 9138 Pro 2017 45ed6b