Was this page helpful?
Thank you!

Comments or suggestions?



Enter Email Address (optional)
email

Preferences are grayed out in QuickBooks Mac multi-user mode

When using a multi-user version of QuickBooks Mac, the user is restricted from editing many items in the File > Preferences window. They will also be blocked from utilities such as Verify & Rebuild Data. The menu for Enable Multiuser is grayed out and there is no way to switch to Single User Mode. This may occur even with users that are granted Administrative permissions.

Detailed information

To re-enable Single User mode and perform the needed tasks:

  1. Exit QuickBooks on all connected workstations.
  2. Access the Mac server and launch the QuickBooks Server utility.
  3. Highlight the file in question and click Stop Sharing.
  4. From one of the workstations, launch QuickBooks and browse to the file on the Mac server.
  5. The file should now be in single user mode and the afflicted screens /menus should be accessible and editable.
  6. If the options are still greyed out, please restart all computers and repeat the steps again.

 

 

KB ID# INF22143
12/10/2016 10:25:04 AM
QYPPRDQBKSWS05 9138 Pro 2017 c8e935