Was this page helpful?
Thank you!

Comments or suggestions?

Enter Email Address (optional)

Users without sufficient permissions can delete transactions they create

QuickBooks Desktop user(s) are able to delete transactions they've entered even if their permissions were set to not allow this functionality.


QuickBooks Desktop is functioning as designed. 

QuickBooks users can edit the transactions they've entered in QuickBooks Desktop while working in the same session.  

  • Until they logged out of the company file, they can modify or delete any transactions they've entered.
  • Once the file is closed and reopened, the user is no longer able to delete the transactions.

This does not apply to other users transactions entered.

Important: Although users are able to perform these tasks, any modifications or deletions of transaction is captured in the Audit Trail report.  You can run this report by:

  1. Select Reports menu and then  Accountant & Taxes and choose Audit Trail.
KB ID# INF12962
10/24/2016 8:59:26 AM
QYPPRDQBKSWS07 9138 Pro 2017 a6937c