Was this page helpful?
Thank you!

Comments or suggestions?

Enter Email Address (optional)

QuickBooks Messenger information

QuickBooks Messenger is a feature that allows communication between QuickBooks users in Multi-user mode. You must be signed into QuickBooks in multi-user mode in order to use this feature.

Detailed information

Overview of QuickBooks Messenger

  • Opening QuickBooks Messenger.
    • In multi-user mode, you will notice a QuickBooks Messenger icon in your system tray (located in the bottom right portion of your screen). The messenger is automatically started whenever you are logged in. Double-click this icon to launch the messenger.
  • Chatting with other users.
    • When you receive a notification that another user has logged into the company file, you can click Chat on the notification window to begin a conversation with that user. You can also right-click the QuickBooks Messenger icon in your system tray and select Chat with to start a chat with another user.
  • The Admin user can chat with other users logged into the company file by clicking the Actions drop-down arrow and selecting Send Message to Logged In Users.
    • It is not possible to view a log of Messenger conversations between users at this time.
  • Available status.
    • You may wish to show other QuickBooks users your status (busy, away, or otherwise). Change your available status by clicking the drop-down arrow that displays your username. Select the status that applies to you, and it will be displayed for other users to see.

To disable the QuickBooks Instant Messenger feature:

  1. In multi-user mode, sign in as Admin.
  2. Go to File>Utilities.
  3. Click on Disable QuickBooks Messenger.
  4. Log out of the company file and then log back in for the setting to take effect.

Closing QuickBooks for another user

Note: Only the Admin can log off a user from a QuickBooks file.

  1. Launch QuickBooks Messenger.
    • Click on Company > Chat with a Coworker.
  2. Click the Actions drop-down arrow.
  3. Select Close Company File for Users.
  4. Select the user whose QuickBooks you want to close.
  5. Click Close Company File.
  6. In the Confirmation window, click Yes.



KB ID# INF12673
10/25/2016 8:58:41 PM
PPRDQSSWS406 9138 Pro 2017 d6c141