Was this page helpful?
Thank you!

Comments or suggestions?

Enter Email Address (optional)

QuickBooks Desktop activities that require switching to single-user mode

Some QuickBooks Desktop activities cannot be performed in multi-user mode because of the way the activities interact with a company data file. 

Detailed information

The following QuickBooks Desktop activities can be performed in single-user mode only:

  • Condensing, converting, rebuilding, restoring, or updating the company data file.
  • Changing company information.
  • Setting up or changing company preferences.
  • Importing or exporting data.
  • Merging, deleting, or resorting list items.
  • Changing list item fields that interact with other lists.
  • Signing up for a QuickBooks Payroll Service.
  • Printing Form 1099-MISC.
  • Mapping a network drive from within QuickBooks.
  • Defining custom fields.
  • Linking to QuickBooks from TurboTax.
  • Accountant's review activities. (The Accountant's Copy may be opened in multi-user Mode and then all applicable restrictions apply.)


To change from multi-user mode to single-user mode, select the File menu and then click Switch to Single-user Mode.

Also, some functions within QuickBooks are lock out functions, which means that the first person to use such a function "locks out" other users from using that function at the same time. Two functions are Payroll and Online Banking.

KB ID# INF12385
10/23/2016 10:13:55 PM
PPRDQSSWS403 9138 Pro 2017 57bc01