Was this page helpful?
Thank you!

Comments or suggestions?



Enter Email Address (optional)
email

Delete QuickBooks Desktop company file

This article provides the steps on how to delete a company file that you no longer need.

Note: Deleting a company file is possible. However, you will not be able to retrieve the deleted file. It is recommended to create a backup copy first, which you can restore any time, before you permanently remove it from your QuickBooks Desktop program.

Detailed instructions
  1. Launch QuickBooks Desktop. The No Company Open will appear.
  2. Go to File menu, then select Open or Restore Company.
  3. Locate and open the company file that you wish to delete.
  4. Copy the complete location of the file.
    On your keyboard, press the F2/Fucntion2 button. The Product Information window appears.
    (If it does not work, press CTRL + 1 on your keyboard.)
    Copy the file location.
  5. Log off/Close your company file, then exit QuickBooks Desktop.
  6. On the Start menu, click Windows button and open File Explorer. Go to Computer to access your file path.
    Note: Default location of QB files is in the C Drive.
    You can access your file by opening the subsequent folders (e.g. C:Users\Public\Documents\QuickBooks) or by copying + pasting it on the address bar.
  7. Right click on the data file, then select Delete
  8. Relaunch QuickBooks Desktop.
  9. On the No Company Open screen, click Edit List.
  10. Check the Hide area. Your company file should not appear on the list anymore.
KB ID# HOW19361
12/9/2016 3:09:34 PM
QYPPRDQBKSWS09 9138 Pro 2017 22cd6f