Was this page helpful?
Thank you!

Comments or suggestions?



Enter Email Address (optional)
email

Set up users so they can view company data but cannot enter any changes

This article explains how you can set permissions limiting a user to viewing data only (creating a "read-only" user).

How to fix it
When you set up users with permission to use your company file, there is no "view-only" option in which the user has permission to view the data but not make any changes. QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions is equipped with the functionality that allows the admin to create users and assign to a View-Only role. All others should choose the solution below that best suits their needs.

If you enable a user selective access to a particular area, the most restrictive access is the ability to create transactions only. This means the user can create new transactions for that area but cannot print them, cannot change any existing transactions, and cannot create reports.

Alternative ways of sharing data without allowing the person to make any changes to your data

  • Create a backup for the user to view. The person will be working with a copy of your data, nothing he or she does can change your actual data.
  1. Set up the person as a user with full access to the areas you want the person to be able to view.
  2. Back up your company file to a removable media, such as a compact disk or floppy disk, and give the person the backup copy. He or she can restore the backup from within QuickBooks and view reports in those areas.
    Note: QuickBooks Desktop recommends restoring the backup to the hard disk, so that the original file is not overwritten.
  • Create a closing date and password for a date far into the future (like the year 12/31/2020, for example). This will prevent anyone from changing, deleting or entering new transactions in the company file.
    Note: The Admin or External Accountant users will be able to change the closing date/password
  • Create reports that contain the information you want to share and save as a PDF. They will be limited to only view the information.

To save a report as a PDF:

  1. Create the QuickBooks report you want to share.
  2. Modify the report for the best view prior to saving. Reports wider than a page may not display well or may be appended to the end of the PDF. Resize columns, remove unnecessary columns, report headers and footers.
  3. Go to the File menu and choose Save as PDF.
  4. In the Save document as PDF window, from the Save in drop-down list, select where you want to save the file (a CD-ROM, your hard disk, or a floppy disk). Make note of the location.
  5. Enter a filename in the File name field and click Save.
  6. The report may now be opened and viewed.
  • Create reports that contain the information you want the person to see, and print the reports to disk. The user can then open the information in a word processing or database program. He or she can view and manipulate the data there, without affecting your company file.

To print a report to a disk:

  1. Open the QuickBooks report you want to print to a disk.
  2. Click Print on the top of the report window.
  3. Click the Settings tab.
  4. In the Print to section, select the File option.
  5. From the File drop-down list, select Tab delimited file.
  6. Click Print.
  7. In the Create Disk File window, from the Save in drop-down list, select where you want to save the file (a CD-ROM, your hard disk, or a floppy disk). Make note of the location.
  8. Enter a filename in the File name field and click Save.
  9. Open the file from the location you chose in step 7, using a word processing or database program.
KB ID# HOW13272
12/3/2016 3:34:50 AM
PPRDQSSWS406 9138 Pro 2017 bb3b6c