Intuit Sync Manager synchronizes your QuickBooks company file data with Intuit online services and third-party developed applications that you may subscribe to. To make it easier for you to use these connected services, Intuit Sync Manager is installed when you install QuickBooks and it cannot be uninstalled separate from QuickBooks, however it will not sync your file unless you set it up to do so.
When you subscribe to any of the services on the Intuit App Center that require access to your QuickBooks company file data, you need to set up your company file for sync.
After you first upload your QuickBooks data, ongoing syncs occur on a regular schedule to keep your QuickBooks data and online data the same.
Use Intuit Sync Manager to find the status of your latest QuickBooks data sync, manage sync frequency, and stop or start syncs at any time.
If you have already set up Intuit Sync Manager, take the following steps to see detailed information about the company file that is syncing:
Important: If you have not yet set up Intuit Sync Manager, the above steps will not work.
Note: While you cannot remove Intuit Sync Manager entirely, if you are not using it to sync any files, you can prevent it from launching when your system starts up. Please see Remove Intuit Sync Manager from Startup.
For detailed information about Intuit Sync Manager, click the questions below.
Answers to commonly asked questions:
Don't turn off your computer or disconnect from the Internet during an upload or sync. Because the initial upload can take a long time, make sure to do this at a time when you can stay connected.
You can find the Intuit Sync Manager in your system tray. Learn more.
Where do I find solutions for sync errors?
Learn how to reset sync.
The first time you use Intuit Sync Manager to sync your QuickBooks company file with one of your online services, the complete initial upload can take some time. Subsequent syncs are typically much faster.
Learn the details.
You can sync on a regular schedule, or you can sync when you need to.
Your QuickBooks data is synced with your Intuit online services or third-party developer application connections to QuickBooks on a regular schedule. If you have the Intuit Sync Manager running on your machine, you can disable the automatic syncs for a particular company file or start them up again later.
When you sync a QuickBooks company file, QuickBooks creates or updates a log file that tracks the synced information. If this log file grows too large, QuickBooks might also create a folder of backup log files. The logs allow incremental syncs to happen much more quickly than full uploads.
When you move, copy, or rename a QuickBooks company file, it's important to also move, copy, or rename the log files at the same time. Otherwise, the logs will no longer match the information in the company file. If this happens, the sync for your company file will be disabled, and Sync Manager will prompt you to re-enable sync and re-upload the company file.
Re-uploading a company file will take as long as the initial upload. In addition, if your online service uses 2-way sync (meaning changes you make in QuickBooks go to your online service and vice-versa), you’ll lose changes you’ve made online that haven’t yet been synced to QuickBooks at the time the file is re-uploaded.
To avoid having to re-upload your company file, use the steps in this article when moving, copying, or renaming your synced company file. Learn more.
Remove a company file from Sync Manager file list.
Clearing the sync settings will detach the company file from syncing to any Intuit online services.
This should only be used:
Collapse or Expand All