Was this page helpful?
Thank you!

Comments or suggestions?



Enter Email Address (optional)
email

Transaction log (.tlg) file

The transaction log file logs all changes to the company file before they are written to the file by the database manager. It is stored in the same folder as the QuickBooks company file. The transaction log file is named [company file name].qbw.tlg.


Important: The .tlg file should be kept in the same folder as the QuickBooks company file (.qbw file) at all times. If the .qbw file is moved or copied somewhere, the .tlg file should be copied with it.


If QuickBooks loses connection to the company file abruptly for any reason, the .tlg file will automatically "correct" the data file as much as possible. If part of a transaction was recorded to the company file but the whole transaction is present in the .tlg file, the transaction will be completed the next time the file is opened in QuickBooks.


If you want to restore an old backup of your company file, QuickBooks Data Services can try to take the changes in the .tlg file (everything since the last successful backup) and enter them into the data file. When this is necessary, it is important that the .tlg file, and the most recent backup are preserved.


The .tlg file can be very large, much larger than the company file. Large .tlg files can have adverse effects on performance of QuickBooks.

There are several situations when the .tlg file will start over or reset:


Note: Intuit strongly recommends running verify when doing a backup, since a successful backup will delete the .tlg file that's needed for data recovery. If the file was damaged before the backup is made, and the backup runs successfully, QuickBooks Data Services may not be able to help.

  • The transaction log is reset (replaced with a new one) each time you successfully complete a backup through QuickBooks. There is no need for the transaction log to keep transactions that have already been recorded to the file and backed up. Note: The transaction log will not be reset when you make QuickBooks Scheduled or Online Backups as these backups are completed independently of QuickBooks.
     
  • The .tlg file is also reset (replaced with a new one) when the data file does not match the .tlg file. If you restore a backup with the same name of the original .qbw file in the same folder, the .tlg will not match the older .qbw file and is therefore replaced.
  • The .qbw file is copied from a work computer, taken home to work on, and then taken back and copied to the work computer. The .tlg file will not match the modified file and will reset. It is important to copy both the .qbw and .tlg files back and forth between the two computers in order not to lose the ability to recover data.

The .tlg file is reset when a portable company file is restored. The .tlg file is not reset when a portable company file is created.

 

  

KB ID# INF12222
4/16/2014 11:42:08 PM
PPRDQSSWS403 9102 Pro 2013 94789c