Was this page helpful?
Thank you!

Comments or suggestions?



Enter Email Address (optional)
email

Logging out all users accessing the company file using QuickBooks Desktop Messenger

The Administrator wishes to perform a task that requires them being in Single-User Mode; however, the other users accessing the file are not at their workstations.

Detailed instructions

Log out users using the Close company file for users feature within QuickBooks Desktop Messenger:

Note: To perform this task, you must be logged in as Administrator.

  1. Log into the company file. Once the file has been opened in Multi-User mode, an icon will appear in the Windows System Tray.
  2. Double-click on the icon to open the QuickBooks Desktop Messenger.
  3. Click on the Actions menu to display the drop-down menu.
  4. Select Close Company File for Users.
  5. Click on the user(s) you wish to log out and click Close Company File.
  6. This will log the users out of the file and allow you to switch to Single-User Mode.
KB ID# HOW13194
9/28/2016 10:01:40 PM
QYPPRDQBKSWS05 9138 Pro 2017 e35a5f