Was this page helpful?
Thank you!

Comments or suggestions?



Enter Email Address (optional)
email

Remove the Accounts Balances Visible by QuickBooks Users on the Home Page

The Home Page displays account balances for bank and credit card, Accounts Receivable and Accounts Payable accounts. A QuickBooks user's visibility to those account balances is dictated by the permissions assigned to that user.

A user's access rights must be restricted in order to keep them from seeing the account balances on the Home Page.

Solution Description

To hide account balances on the QuickBooks Home page for a user, follow the steps for your version below:

For Pro or Premier versions:

  1. Log into the QuickBooks data file as the administrative user.
  2. From the QuickBooks Company menu select Set up Users.
  3. On the User List window, select the user you want to restrict Home Page account balance visibility for and then click Edit User.
  4. On the Change User Password and Access window click Next, and then click Selected areas of QuickBooks if it isn't already selected.
  5. Click Next until you see the Sensitive Accounting Activities page (page 7 of 10).
  6. On the Sensitive Accounting Activities page select No Access.
  7. Click Next until you reach the end of the interview and then click Finish.

For Enterprise versions the Role assigned to the user must be edited to restrict access to the Account Balances on the Home page.

  1. Log in to the QuickBooks company file as the Administrator.
  2. Select the Company menu and select Users > Set up Users & Roles.
  3. Select the user whose role you want to modify, and then click Edit.
  4. Note the role assigned to that user in the Assigned Roles section of the Edit User window. That is the role you will modify. Click Cancel.
  5. Click the Role List tab in the Users and Roles window.
  6. Select the role you noted in step 4, and then click Edit.
  7. In the Area and Activities section, click the + symbol next to Lists to expand that section.
  8. Select Chart of Accounts, and select None in the Activity Access Level section of the window.
  9. Click OK to close the Edit Role window, and then click Close in the Users and Roles window to save your changes. The QuickBooks Home page will not display any account balances for users with the role assignment you changed.
Note: Changing access for one user's role affects all other users assigned to that role. If you want to change access for only one user, duplicate the role, assign the duplicate role to that user, and then edit the permissions for the duplicate role.

If this solution does not resolve the issue, please review other available QuickBooks support options for additional guidance. You can also read and post messages relating to your issue on the QuickBooks Community forums.

Your opinion counts! Please use the voting and feedback buttons to help us build a better knowledge base.

KB ID# HOW12933
8/27/2014 4:00:05 PM
PPRDQSSWS407 9102 Pro 2013 c6165f