Was this page helpful?
Thank you!

Comments or suggestions?



Enter Email Address (optional)
email

Synchronize QuickBooks data with Customer Manager V2.5

 

When you synchronize (sync) QuickBooks data with Customer Manager, you choose options that determine what type of data is synchronized with QuickBooks (such as whether you want to sync just customer data or customer data and vendor data), synchronize the data, and then resolve data conflicts, if needed.

The first time you sync with QuickBooks, data is imported from QuickBooks. When you sync again, data syncs (goes both ways) from QuickBooks to Customer Manager and from Customer Manager to QuickBooks.

Important: You can only sync with one QuickBooks company file.

Detailed Instructions

Set up sync with QuickBooks

  1. Open the QuickBooks company file you want to sync data with and open Customer Manager.
  2. From the File menu, click Sync, then on the Sync tab, do one of the following:
    • If this is the first time you're setting up sync with QuickBooks, click Set Up QuickBooks Sync. Go to step 3.
    • If you have already set up sync, make sure that the Sync with QuickBooks checkbox is selected, and click Synchronize. Go to step 6.
    • If you need to change the way your data synchronizes with QuickBooks, click Edit Settings.
  3. In the Company File Name box, check to see if the file that appears in the box is the file that you want to sync with, or browse to locate it. Click Next.
  4. To determine what data you want to sync with Customer Manager, choose import settings, then click Next.
  5. If you create custom fields in QuickBooks, you can determine how your custom fields sync with QuickBooks. For information about mapping your fields, see Mapping QuickBooks custom fields. When you're satisfied that your data will be imported correctly, click Next.
  6. Do one of the following:
    • If the Sync Complete window appears, go to step 7.
    • If the Conflict Resolution window appears, you have a customer listed both in QuickBooks and Customer Manager that has data that doesn't match. For information about resolving conflicts, see Resolving data conflicts. When you have finished resolving your conflicts, click Next.
  7. After you finish importing or synchronizing:
    • If the data in Customer Manager is correct, you have finished synchronizing.
    • If the data in Customer Manager is not correct, or you're not satisfied with the results, you can undo the sync. To undo the sync from QuickBooks:
      1. From the File menu, choose Utilities, then choose Undo last import/sync.
      2. In the confirmation dialog, click Yes. Customer Manager restores the database from backup, returning your data to how it was prior to synchronizing.
        Warning: When you use undo, the system does not undo changes that were made to both Customer Manager and the application that Customer Manager is synchronizing with. Changes are only made in Customer Manager. In other words, if, during synchronization, you chose to resolve data conflicts in favor of Customer Manager, the resulting changes to the external application cannot be undone.
         
  8. Click Finish.

Note: If you only want to import data, do not go on to the next section. If you do want to sync data, go to the next section.

Synchronizing with QuickBooks

 

After you set up sync, you can sync data with QuickBooks at any time:

  1. In Customer Manager, from the File menu, choose Sync.
  2. On the Sync tab, make sure that the Sync with QuickBooks checkbox is selected, and click the Synchronize button, located at the bottom right of the window.
  3. If the Add/Delete from QuickBooks window appears, you can choose the names that are added to or removed from QuickBooks. Click Next.
  4. Do one of the following:
    • If the Sync Complete window appears, go to step 5.
    • If the Resolve Name Record Conflicts window appears, you have a customer listed both in QuickBooks and Customer Manager that has data that doesn't match. For information about resolving conflicts, see Resolving data conflicts. When you have finished conflict resolution, click Next, and go to step 5.
  5. In the Sync Complete window, the number of contacts that have synchronized with QuickBooks appears. To complete synchronizing with QuickBooks, click Finish.
    • If the data in Customer Manager is correct, you have finished synchronizing.
    • If the data in Customer Manager is not correct, or you're not satisfied with the results, you can undo the sync. To undo the sync with QuickBooks, on the File menu, click Utilities, and then select Undo last import/sync.
  6. If you need to change the way your data synchronizes with QuickBooks, click Edit Settings.

If these steps do not resolve the issue, you can read discussions and post messages and questions relating to your issue on the Intuit QuickBooks Community site for free or you can contact a technical support agent for additional guidance. Fees may apply.

KB ID# HOW12204
9/16/2014 2:25:13 AM
PPRDQSSWS407 9102 Pro 2013 50a21f