Before you begin upgrading, make sure you have already installed your new version of QuickBooks Desktop to download and install your software. You can then upgrade your company file to work with the new version.
Things to know before upgrading your data file
If you are the only user in your company file, then you are already the administrator. Otherwise, you will need to sign into the "Admin" user to continue with these steps.
If you are not the administrator and you try to update your company file, you will receive the message, "The company file needs to be updated. Please ask your QuickBooks administrator to update the file." This means you need to switch to the Admin user and try again.
It is NOT advisable to upgrade the file while stored on a network or a mapped drive. This may make the conversion unstable and puts the file at risk of being damaged. Instead, the QuickBooks Desktop company file must be saved locally on the computer you are accessing it from.
Once you convert the file to a newer version, older versions of QuickBooks will not be able to open it.
However, QuickBooks Desktop automatically backs up your data file before upgrading it, in case you need to revert to the older version. You can always restore this backup with your old version of QuickBooks Desktop if necessary. Or, if the conversion process is interrupted for any reason, you can restore the backup with your new version of QuickBooks Desktop to restart the upgrade.
You can convert/upgrade a file from Pro or Premier to Enterprise. However, the file can no longer be opened in Pro or Premier after the conversion/upgrade.
Files created from Enterprise editions cannot be converted to QuickBooks Pro or Premier.
Few things you may want to try for the previous version of QuickBooks Desktop before upgrading your company file to the newer version.
Step by step process of upgrading your company file