When you sync a QuickBooks company file, QuickBooks creates or updates a log file that tracks the synced information. If this log file grows too large, QuickBooks might also create a folder of backup log files. The logs allow incremental syncs to happen much more quickly than full uploads.
When you move, copy, or rename a QuickBooks company file, it's important to also move, copy, or rename the log files at the same time. Otherwise, the logs will no longer match the information in the company file. If this happens, the sync for your company file will be disabled, and Sync Manager will prompt you to re-enable sync and re-upload the company file.
Re-uploading a company file will take as long as the initial upload. In addition, if your online service uses 2-way sync (meaning changes you make in QuickBooks go to your online service and vice-versa), you’ll lose changes you’ve made online that haven’t yet been synced to QuickBooks at the time the file is re-uploaded.
To avoid having to re-upload your company file, use the steps in this article when moving, copying, or renaming your synced company file.
Important: When you copy a synced company file, the original file will continue to be synced. Copy the file only if you intend to restore the copy to the original location. You must also be re willing to disable sync while you work on the copy elsewhere. If your online service syncs both ways and you don't disable sync, when you copy the file back it will overwrite any changes that were synced from your online service into QuickBooks. If you intend to sync with a file in a new location, you should move or rename it instead.
To move or copy a synced company file:
To rename a synced company file:
After you move or rename a synced file using the steps above, the Sync Manager will notify you that it can't find the file and give you a chance to locate it. Once you locate the file, sync will continue without having to re-upload the file.